Gaming

Some Standout Games from an Incredible E3 2015

Wordpress Pic 3

Fallout 4

You’re not gonna get mad at my predictable start are you? Fallout 4 made a splash at this year’s E3, with the world premiere gameplay, “the best gimmick I’ve ever seen” and a demo showcasing the surprising amount of customization courtesy of the dynamic game engine. Knowing this is just the beginning has me very excited indeed.

Wordpress Pic 4

Dark Souls 3

Now I know they only showed a trailer, but what a trailer it was. You could feel the beauty, the dread associated with every Souls game. More of those can’t be bad, right? I’m just glad we’ll be having more of what Hidetaka Miyazaki’s so good at: extremely hard but equally rewarding action-RPGs set in game worlds dripping with detail. Bloodborne was a fantastic game; Dark Souls 3 will most probably be too.

Wordpress Pic 5

Dreams

Media Molecule is best known for creating one of Sony’s well-known mascots, Sackboy. The LittleBigPlanet games were easy to understand, kid-friendly platformers that came with tools to create levels that you then share with the world. Dreams is quite hard to understand. I was honestly confused the first time I saw it, but the more I did, the more I saw its beauty and potential. You have to see it to believe it.

Wordpress Pic 6

Ghost Recon: Wildlands

I was never interested in the Ghost Recon franchise. Except maybe the first ones because they reminded me of Socom, or GRAW for the novelty at the time. Wildlands though, is a completely different beast. It’s an approach how you want it squad-based shooter set in a massive open world filled with vehicles, jungles, human settlements, etc. What a way to blast into my consciousness.

Wordpress Pic 7

Unravel

Honestly, if I didn’t see the introduction to this game, I wouldn’t have included it in this list. But what I heard makes this really interesting. Unravel’s concept was conceived at a family vacation, and it’s a game about love. You play a small character made out of yarn that unravels as you go further in your journey. Go check it out, it’s a charming little indie game.

Side Note: E3 2015 wasn’t all console games; Oculus had its own press conference and the all-important PC had its own too. You might want to watch them in YouTube if you’re interested in VR and/or PC gaming.

Standard

Leave a Reply

